PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 8 and 9
‘Winning Post’: Horses race over the snow during the fifth race of the White Turf race meeting held on the frozen surface of Lake St. Moritz in Switzerland. Credit: Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images
February 1st, 2013
11:17 AM ET

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 8 and 9

The CNN Football Club       *NEW*

“Where the global, social, soccer debate kicks off!”

CNN_FOOTBALL_CLUB_LOGO

 

 

 

Airs every Thursday at 1700 GMT / 1800 CET

Thursday 21 February at 1700 GMT / 1800 CET
Thursday 28 February at 1700 GMT / 1800 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

The CNN Football Club’ is a new weekly, half-hour football debate show hosted by CNN’s sports correspondent Pedro Pinto, which launched in early February. Each week, football’s most famous faces join Pinto to discuss the hottest topics generated by the UEFA Champions League, the world’s premier club competition. The programme offers CNN’s audience the chance to take centre stage by pitching their questions – via social media – to the CNN FC team.

‘The CNN Football Club’ is a fully-interactive 24/7 experience and the debate continues online at www.CNN.com/footballclub between the shows. A market-leading statistics service fuels debate on TV and online, with digital users able to receive live game and player statistics as the games happen.

ireport.com/CNNFC
facebook.com/TheCNNFC
@CNNFC
@PedroCNN

 

Open Court

Former world number one John McEnroe at the Powershares series

Former world number one John McEnroe at the Powershares series

 
Thursday 21 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 23 February at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 24 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 02 March at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 03 March at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2230 GMT/ 2330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

February’s edition of ‘Open Court,’ heads to the U.S. where the search is underway for the next American grand slam champion. Pat Cash hosts the show from California's Bay Area – on the sidelines of the SAP Open in San Jose. After a decade-long grand slam drought for America’s male players, the programme looks at who is tipped to rise to the top, including world number 13 John Isner, world number 27 Mardy Fish and 20 year-old Ryan Harrison. The programme ventures north to Las Vegas, where the champions of the past are at work moulding the talent of the future. All-time greats Andre Agassi and Steffi Graf are the so-called ‘godparents’ of an innovative training programme, run from the Nevada desert, that employs some of the best tennis coaches in the business. ‘Open Court’ talks to them about their mentoring role and to the coaching team who have taught some of the biggest names in the game. Also this month, a catch-up with seven-time grand slam champion John McEnroe, who has been playing in the Powershares series – a competitive tennis circuit featuring legendary icons like Pete Sampras, Michael Chang and Jim Courier. The former world number one tells ‘Open Court’ how he gained the edge over players during his prestigious career and why he thinks the current crop of professional players seem a little too nice to each other!

 
cnn.com/opencourt @cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash
 
 
 

Winning Post

Skiers are pulled by horses in the skijoring race during the White Turf race. Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images.

Skiers are pulled by horses in the skijoring race during the White Turf race. Photo by Scott Barbour/Getty Images.

 

Thursday 28 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 02 March at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 03 March at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 15 minutes
 

In this month’s edition of ‘Winning Post’, CNN’s flat racing programme, the team head to White Turf event in Switzerland, which swaps its usual green and grassy setting for immaculate white snow. The White Turf event in St Moritz is a combination of flat, trot and skijoring races all run on a frozen lake – but, how to make dozens of half-tonne thoroughbreds run on ice that’s 60cm thick? ‘Winning Post’ reviews the facilities, preparation and the equipment used – from high-tech horseshoes to motorbike-style jockey helmets. St Moritz may be best known as a luxurious ski resort, but the arrival of the horses is a spectacular sight – drawing in an enthusiastic crowd and dedicated competitors. Host Francesca Cumani meets international competitors ahead of the race, as well as a vet and a hoof specialist, whose role is to ensure the horses are safe on the ice – and still have a good chance of winning. Finally, ‘Winning Post’ is at the finish line of the skijoring race, the highlight of the event, where riderless horses pull skiers over a distance of 2,700m at speeds up to 50 km/h. The programme also catches up with 16-time skijoring world champion, Franco Moro to film key training sessions in his ski school and the race’s President Silvio Martin Staub.

 
facebook.com/CNNwinningpost
@francescacumani
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.