03:33 PM ET, October 6th, 2014

“ROOTS: OUR JOURNEYS HOME” kicks off Sunday, October 12th, with a two-hour primetime special airing Tuesday, October 21st at 9 pm ET Storytelling is at the core of what CNN does, and in a week-long series beginning Sunday, October 12th, thirteen of the network’s prominent hosts and anchors set out on a journey to find […] Full Post

January 17th, 2013
08:46 AM ET

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 6 and 7

Inside the Middle East

CNN’s Arwa Damon meets expatriates living in Beirut

CNN’s Arwa Damon meets expatriates living in Beirut

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 06 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 09 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 10 February at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET
Saturday 16 February at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET
Sunday 17 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

In February, 'Inside the Middle East' travels to Beirut, the cosmopolitan, multi-lingual capital of Lebanon.  Beirut's popularity among expatriate residents has not waned, despite the recent instability caused by the bitter conflict in neighbouring Syria. Hosted by CNN’s Senior International Correspondent, Arwa Damon, the programme discovers why the 'Paris of the Middle East' is so appealing to immigrants.

Expats may be flocking to Beirut, but not everyone is welcome.  Many economic migrants in Beirut struggle with prejudice on a daily basis.  The country has implemented a zero-tolerance policy towards racism – but Damon finds out why it’s going to take more than a legislation to change the local attitudes.

The programme also explores the rights of women in Lebanon – a nation known for its tolerant stance on gender issues. With few laws on domestic abuse and little female representation in government however, activists say the sense of freedom among women in the country is a false one. ‘Inside the Middle East’ meets women now demanding change.

Also, the programme meets the alternative rock band Mashrou' Laila, a group who have become hugely popular in Lebanon by taking on traditionally taboo topics, such as politics and homosexuality, in their music.

edition.cnn.com/CNNI/Programs/middle.east
@arwaCNN
 

Living Golf

Rory McIlroy proudly holds the Rodman Wanamaker Trophy after winning the PGA Championship – Credit: Getty

Rory McIlroy proudly holds the Rodman Wanamaker Trophy after winning the PGA Championship – Credit: Getty

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 07 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 09 February at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 10 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 16 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 17 January at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In February, ‘Living Golf’ travels to the Middle East for the annual Desert Swing – where the world’s top players compete across Abu Dhabi, Qatar and Dubai.

The programme looks at Rory McIlroy’s recently-signed massive Nike sponsorship deal, reported to be worth hundreds of millions of dollars, making him one of the highest paid sports stars in the world. Host Shane O’Donoghue speaks to the man himself, and exclusively to his former main sponsor Jumeirah and Rory's managers, Conor Ridge.

Also this month, O’Donoghue sits down with Europe’s new Ryder Cup captain, Paul McGinley, for an in-depth interview on the road to Gleneagles 2014.

Plus, the programme looks at how the Italian region of Tuscany plans to drive high-end golf tourism in the coming years, and former world number one Martin Kaymer gives a lesson in how to play bunker shots for ‘Living Golf’’s regular Hotshots feature.

cnn.com/livinggolf
@CNNLivingGolf
@shaneodonoghue
 

CNN Business Traveller

It’s ‘business as usual’ at Gardemoen Airport, Oslo, despite extreme weather conditions. Credit: Nivek Neslo / Getty

It’s ‘business as usual’ at Gardemoen Airport, Oslo, despite extreme weather conditions. Credit: Nivek Neslo / Getty

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 14 February at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Friday 15 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET
Saturday 16 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET
Sunday 17 February at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

Travel and weather are awkward bedfellows. More and more, weather dictates when and where we can fly, and the travel industry faces the constant task of keeping things moving come sun, rain or snow.

This month, ‘CNN Business Traveller’ is in Oslo, to find out how the city’s airport ensures smooth operation despite extreme weather conditions, heavy snowfall and temperatures as low as -25C. Gardemoen Airport, Oslo has been named ‘Europe’s most punctual airport’ four times by the AEA (Association of European Airlines).

CNN Business Traveller’ host Richard Quest gets a thorough insight into how the airport keeps things moving, turning his hand to clearing a runway of snow and de-icing a plane, using some of the best technology in the industry. Meanwhile, Ayesha Durgahee investigates what is done to ensure a plane can withstand extreme conditions. For those times when weather does win the day, Quest looks at how passengers can keep busy if they find themselves stranded.

cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller
@RichardQuest
@AyeshaCNN
 

MainSail

Skippers begin the race on their monohulls at the start of the 7th edition of the Vendee Globe. Credit: Damien Mayer/AFP/Getty Images

Skippers begin the race on their monohulls at the start of the 7th edition of the Vendee Globe. Credit: Damien Mayer/AFP/Getty Images

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 14 February at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 16 February at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 17 February at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In this month’s ‘MainSail’, host Shirley Robertson heads to France to witness the exhilarating finish to the round-the-world Vendée Globe yacht race.

In November 2012, Robertson was in Les Sables d'Olonne as twenty skippers left France to sail non-stop alone around the world in the seventh edition of the race. ‘MainSail’ is at the dockside to see whether the first person home will, once again, be a French father in his mid thirties – the winning skipper profile of every edition since the race began in 1989.

During the race, Robertson was in communication with the sailors via satellite at Race Control at the Montparnasse Tower Headquarters in Paris and witnessed the racing fleet shrink from twenty to twelve entries as the race took its toll.

‘MainSail’ heads to the finish line in France to uncover the stories that only ever get told once the skippers are ashore. The programme witnesses just how many of the sailors can complete the course, and the pressure is on – winning the Vendée Globe is considered the ultimate achievement in solo racing.

cnn.com/mainsail/
@Shirleysail
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.