PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 48 & 49
Becky Anderson at Istanbul’s Grand Bazaar in ‘The Gateway’
November 14th, 2012
12:42 PM ET

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 48 & 49

Leading Women

Indian biotech trailblazer Kiran Mazumdar & well-loved Argentine media personality Susana Giminez

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 28 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 1 December at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 2 December at 1330 GMT / 1430 CET

Profiling some of the most influential women from across the globe, each month ‘Leading Women’ meets remarkable professionals from a variety of fields, including business, the arts, sport and culture.

This month on the programme – a woman dubbed "the richest self-made woman in India" and one referred to as "the Oprah Winfrey of Argentina."

At just 25, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw (pictured left) applied her training in beer and malt brewing to the production of pharmaceuticals and, in the process,  helped pioneer the biotech industry in India.  Today, her company, Biocon, is one of the country's leading drug companies, valued at over $800 million. Becky Anderson reports on Shaw's remarkable journey.

Susana Gimenez (pictured right) has been a television mainstay in Argentina for over 25 years. CNN’s Felicia Taylor speaks with the savvy businesswoman who as has amassed a legion of fans over the course of a career that spans film, theatre and magazine publishing.

 
CNN.com/leadingwomen
@BeckyCNN

Winning Post

Horse trainer Gai Waterhouse

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 29 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 01 December at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 02 December 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Duration: 15 minutes

 

‘Winning Post’ this month features Australia's major thoroughbred horse race, also known as "the race that stops a nation": the prestigious Melbourne Cup.

The show first meets with Gai Waterhouse, a former model turned horse trainer (pictured). “Australia’s First Lady of Racing” had just two weeks to train her entry into this year’s race. She tells host Francesca Cumani how she plans to win the only title that has so far eluded her.

Also this month Cumani speaks with her father, world-renowned trainer Luca Cumani, who has twice finished second in Australia’s most famous race.

‘Winning Post’ then takes a look at what makes the Melbourne Cup distinct from any other race. Australians get to enjoy a state day holiday in honour of the event and Melbourne plays host to exultant crowds lining the streets for the parade of champions.

The programme  concludes with a glimpse of the Longines Singapore Gold Cup, a country that is celebrating 170 years of horse racing.

 
facebook.com/CNNwinningpost
@francescacumani

The Gateway: Istanbul

Becky Anderson speaks to Turkish transport minister Binali Yildirim

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 29 November at 1045 GMT / 1145 CET and 1745 GMT / 1845 CET
Saturday 1 December at 0845 GMT / 0945 CET and 2215 GMT / 2315 CET
Sunday 2 December at 1745 GMT / 1845 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

  

The Gateway’goes behind the scenes of the world’s major transport hubs revealing the logistics that keep everything moving. In this edition:  Istanbul, Turkey.

Straddling two continents, this maritime city sits at the crossroads between East and West, at the centre of one of the world’s most travelled and significant trading routes.

Splitting the city in two, the Bosphorus Strait is Istanbul’s main commercial artery – in a single year over 50,000 ships navigate this narrow, busy waterway. ‘The Gateway’ goes onboard a Maersk container ship, following its passage through these waters. Host Becky Anderson speaks to Turkey’s Transport Minister Binali Yildirim (pictured) about plans for the future of trade through one of the busiest checkpoints on the globe.

‘The Gateway’ also follows the daily commute from Asia to Europe across the Bosphorus on a traditional city ferry. The ferries have been carrying passengers for almost 175 years and are a beloved institution in Istanbul, transporting nearly 400,000 people each day.

The programme also goes deep beneath the BosphorusStrait to visit what is considered one of the major transportation infrastructure projects of modern times – the Marmaray Tunnel. The Marmaray will be the world’s deepest submerged tunnels, built in an active earthquake zone and under one of the busiest shipping lanes on the planet.

 
CNN.com/gateway
@BeckyCNN
  
 

On China

Host Kristie Lu Stout discusses Chinese consumerism with her guests Karl Gerth, Janet Wang and Shaun Rein (left to right).

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Saturday 1 December at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET
Sunday 2 December at 0530 GMT/ 0630 CET and 1930 GMT/ 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

 

CNN’s new series ‘On China’ is the first by any international television news network to regularly focus on the country. Shot on location in Hong Kong at the historic Hullett House, in each show Lu Stout meets with leading figures in culture and business from within China’s borders for a roundtable discussion about what really drives this world power and economic giant.

The second edition of the programme takes a close look at Chinese consumerism. Set to surpass Japan in consumer spending next year, China is home to the largest auto market in the world and its core consumer class is some 430 million strong.  Consumer demand is a trend that is dramatically reshaping the social and economic fabric of China and the world.

Host Kristie Lu Stout invites Karl Gerth, professor of Chinese Studies at Oxford University; Janet Wang, head of International Business Development for TMall.com plus  Shaun Rein, Managing Director of the China Market Research Group (pictured left to right) to join her for an in-depth conversation about the Chinese consumer – who they are, what they want, and what their spending habits mean for the global economy.

 
cnn.com/onchina
@klustout
 
 

Inside the Middle East

Amr Mohammed, the 19-year old Egyptian student who won the opportunity to have an experiment of his choosing conducted on the International Space Station

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 5 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 8 December at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 9 December at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET
Saturday 15 December at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET
Sunday 16 December at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

December's 'Inside the Middle East' looks back at a remarkable year in the world of the arts, culture, and lifestyle across this traditional but dynamic region.  This end-of-year episode revisits the programme's most inspiring characters – from the shores of Morocco to the remote deserts of Kuwait, and nearly everywhere in between – to see how, and if, things have changed.

One of the biggest stories ‘Inside the Middle East’  covered in 2012 was the run-up to the Olympic Games, which offered many Middle Eastern female athletes a rare public stage to compete and test their abilities to score points for society, both on and off the court. The show again meets Lina Al-Maeena, the captain of Jeddah United, one of Saudi Arabia's first organized female sports teams, to get her take on the likelihood of a post-Olympic future for Saudi women in sport.

The show also catches up with 19-year-old student Amr Mohamed (pictured), a young Egyptian who had won a highly competitive science competition. The prize? A chance to launch a science project of his choosing into outer space for testing!  Amr's experiment, which would explore how zero gravity affects the habits of jumping spiders, was rocketed to the International Space Station this Autumn. 'Inside the Middle East' meets him on his university campus for an update.

cnn.com/IME
facebook.com/CNNIME
 
 

Living Golf

‘Living Golf’ host Shane O’Donoghue

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 6 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 8 December at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 9 December at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 15 December at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 16 December at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET

Duration: 30 minutes

In the final edition of ‘Living Golf’ this year, host Shane O’Donoghue (pictured) is in Dubai for the European Season at the DP World Tour Championship at the Jumeirah Golf Estates.

The programme looks back at some of the biggest golf stories of the year, including Europe’s Ryder Cup triumph and Rory McIlroy’s ascension to world number one after winning his second major championship this summer and his eventual victory in both the Race to Dubai and the PGA money-list.

'Living Golf’  in December features some of golf’s other A-listers including Tiger Woods, 18-time Major winner Jack Nicklaus and Ryder-Cup hero Martin Kaymer.

Also in the show, the man chosen to build Rio’s Olympic golf course, Gil Hanse is interviewed, and Shane casts his eye to what 2013 has in store.

 
cnn.com/livinggolf
@shaneodonoghue

Topics: CNN • CNN International • CNN Preview
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.