10:50 PM ET, August 16th, 2014

Award Marks Second Consecutive Win for Series in Category CNN’s popular original series Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown was honored with the award for Outstanding Informational Series, for the second consecutive year, during the 2014 Creative Arts Primetime Emmy presentation at the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles earlier tonight. The award was presented to Anthony Bourdain, […] Full Post

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 44 & 45
Richard Quest (right) saddles up in Granby, Colorado
October 17th, 2012
12:59 PM ET

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 44 & 45

 American Quest

 

The sleeping car on the Amtrak California Zephyr train
 
 
 
Reports within ‘Quest Means Business’ daily from Friday 29 October to Friday 2 November at 1900 GMT / 2000 CET
 
Plus special programme at the following times:
Saturday 3 November at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET, 1330 GMT / 1430 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 4 November at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2230 GMT / 2330 CET
Tuesday 6 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 
In the run up to November's Presidential Elections, CNN anchor Richard Quest has embarked on a train journey across America in a series of election reports, American Quest’.

On a ‘whistle-stop tour’ of the Midwest and western states, Quest gauged the pulse of the American voters on a journey as diverse as the United States itself. Starting in Chicago, the adult hometown of President Barack Obama, Quest talked to voters about their concerns this election year.

Taking Amtrak’s California Zephyr line, which stretches from Chicago to near San Francisco, Quest and team made stops in the “swing states” of Iowa and Colorado. The Zephyr also snakes through Utah, home to many of the country’s Mormon voters – and would-be supporters of Mitt Romney. The trail ends in California near San Francisco, one of the most picturesque cities in the United States.

Since the 2004 presidential election, Quest has provided viewers with a unique perspective on American presidential politics from a British journalist’s point-of-view.

cnn.com/QMB
@richardquest
facebook.com/CNNQuest


Living Golf

McIlroy & Woods on the course in Antalya, Turkey (Photo by Warren Little / Getty Images)
 
 
Thursday 8 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 10 November at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 11 November at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 17 November at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 18 November at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET 
 

‘Living Golf’ is on the road with Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy this month, undeniably the leading lights of golf today.

For the first time ever on camera, the two best players in the world sit down for a joint interview ahead of their head-to-head clash in China. While the pair often find themselves locked in fierce competition,CNN can see the rivalry between the two men is far from acrimonious, with more than a hint of a blossoming bromance.

‘Living Golf’ also takes a look at the story behind Turkey's decision to throw millions of dollars at a new matchplay tournament in Antalya. Eight of the world's best players, including Woods and McIlroy themselves, have skipped their European and American tours to play each other for bucketloads of cash – is this part of the future for the professional game?

The upcoming French Open also sees the return of former world number one Lorena Ochoa. ‘Living Golf’ spends a week reacquainting itself with this Mexican star, one of the greats of the women’s game.

cnn.com/livinggolf
@shaneodonoghue

 

Inside the Middle East

 

Zain Verjee visits the food court of one of Kuwait’s many huge shopping malls

Wednesday 7 November at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET

Saturday 10 November at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 11 November at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET
Saturday 17 November at 1330 GMT/ 1430 CET
Sunday 18 November at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

The growing epidemic of obesity in the oil-rich Gulf nations is explored in November's 'Inside the Middle East'. Qatar, Bahrain and the UAE may be some of the wealthiest nations in the world, but they have also become some of the most obese.

Host Zain Verjee (pictured) visits Dubai to discover how increasing numbers of Emiratis are turning to stomach stapling surgery to shed their pounds before travelling to Kuwait, where nearly 70 percent of men are overweight. Verjee talks to the Kuwaiti people and learns how fast food, scorching year-round heat and rapid modernisation have all contributed to making this tiny gulf state the second fattest country on Earth.

Staying in Kuwait, ‘Inside the Middle East’ heads to the Iraq border where a different, but equally massive, problem is being faced by the fragile desert ecosystem. More than two decades after Saddam Hussein’s retreating troops set fire to Kuwait’s oil fields, following the Gulf War, environmentalists are still trying to pick up the pieces.

The programme also meets young Kuwaiti artist Hussain Salameen who is uniquely fusing design and technology to build some of the region’s only chopper motorcycles.

 cnn.com/IME
@zainverjeecnn
Facebook.com/CNNIME

Topics: CNN • CNN Preview
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.