03:33 PM ET, October 6th, 2014

“ROOTS: OUR JOURNEYS HOME” kicks off Sunday, October 12th, with a two-hour primetime special airing Tuesday, October 21st at 9 pm ET Storytelling is at the core of what CNN does, and in a week-long series beginning Sunday, October 12th, thirteen of the network’s prominent hosts and anchors set out on a journey to find […] Full Post

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 40 & 41
'Inside the Middle East' host Leone Lakhani in Morocco
September 19th, 2012
12:17 PM ET

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 40 & 41

CNN Business Traveller

The Andes tower over the Chilean capital of Santiago. CREDIT: Getty images / John W Banagan

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 11 October at 0830 BST / 0930 CET 
Friday 12 October at 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Saturday 13 October at 0730 BST / 0830 CET
Sunday 14 October at 0400 BST / 0500 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

As Latin America continues to drive economic growth around the globe, the continent is fast becoming a key location for the movers and shakers of the business world. This month, ‘CNN Business Traveller’ turns its eye to a country demanding particular attention – Chile. While it may not be as big as its neighbours, this country boasts aviation, hotel and tourism industries that are booming. The programme meets the President Sebastián Piñera, who talks about the future of Chile and its economy.

The programme sees host Richard Quest interviews the key players behind the merger of the continent’s two airline giants, Chile’s LAN and Brazil’s TAM, creating the largest airline in the region – LATAM. Meanwhile, ‘CNN Business Traveller’ host Ayesha Durgahee sits down with Accor Hotels, who identify the future of their company in Latin America.

‘CNN Business Traveller’ also meets David Neeleman – the man who is driving the low cost airline industry in Brazil – as he seeks a merger to create Brazil’s third largest airline. Plus the programme visits Chile’s ‘must see’ destinations, looking at what not to miss when visiting the capital city of Santiago.

@RichardQuest
@AyeshaCNN
cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller

Living Golf

'World Sport' host Amanda Davies with Prince Andrew

Thursday 04 October at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 06 October at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 07 October at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 13 October at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Sunday 14 October at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In October, ‘Living Golf’ visits Tuscany, to look at new developments in golf tourism in Italy. Will the country’s economic crisis actually help push the growth of the game there, in terms of both tourism and local players? The programme interviews golfing legend Sir Nick Faldo and legendary British hotelier Sir Rocco Forte to find out.

Also profiled is teenage sensation Lydia Ko, who last month became the youngest ever winner on the LPGA Tour at the age of 15, four months and two days. She talks to ‘Living Golf’ about picking up a club at the age of six, her Olympic ambitions and how it feels to play alongside her idols.

This month’s show also includes, CNN's 'World Sport’ anchor Amanda Davies interviewing former R&A Captain and keen golfer, Prince Andrew (pictured), as he hosts the eleventh addition of the Duke of York Champions Trophy. He reveals how golf began for him during his years in the Royal Navy, and his passion for amateur golf.

The programme also reviews the highs and lows of the Ryder Cup, with the people who saw the drama unfold firsthand.

cnn.com/livinggolf
@shaneodonoghue

Inside the Middle East

Agadir, Morocco. CREDIT: Getty/Walter Bibikow

Wednesday 03 October at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 06 October at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 07 October at 1230 BST/ 1330 CET
Saturday 13 October at 1230 BST/ 1330 CET
Sunday 14 October at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In October, 'Inside the Middle East' travels to Morocco, the North African kingdom located on the western edge of the Arab world.

In a nation where nearly half of those between the ages of 15 and 29 are either unemployed or out of school, frustration at the lack of opportunities is mounting. Some young Moroccans took to the streets over the past year to protest these realities while others took to the recording studio to speak out – both of which come with risk. One Moroccan rapper, El Haqed, was imprisoned earlier this year because of his lyrics. Show host Leone Lakhani meets several young rappers – from Casablanca to Tangiers – to hear some of the sounds of Morocco’s urban rage.

'Inside the Middle East' also journeys to the southern stretches of Morocco's Atlantic coastline, to the traditional Berber city of Agadir. Berbers were the first inhabitants of North Africa, and many still follow older customs and practice ancestral crafts. One of these – a beauty oil made from Argan tree seeds – is quickly becoming all the rage among celebrities and high-end shoppers in the West. Lakhani meets one Moroccan who is helping to produce the oil – and jobs for women in the country.

And what trip to Morocco would be complete without tasting the nation's world-famous cuisine? The team heads north to Fes, Morocco's culinary capital, to receive cooking lessons from Lahcen Beqqi, a top chef who has figured out how to blend traditional cooking with modern techniques.

Political Mann

Jonathan Mann

Saturdays at 0030 BST / 0130 CET and 1030 BST / 1130 CET
Sundays at 1530 BST / 1630 CET and 2130 BST / 2230 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

As 6 November and Election Day grows ever nearer, the world’s eyes are fixed on the race for U.S. presidency between incumbent Barack Obama and his Republican rival Mitt Romney.

Each week, CNN’s ‘Political Mann’ reports all the twists and turns of the campaign trail, as host Jonathan Mann turns an insightful and irreverent eye toward politics and the quest for the White House, with this fast-paced, what-you-need-to-know look at the issues, polls, political plays, campaign controversies and colour.

What issues are defining this election? What lengths have the candidates gone to, to make their case? And what fascinating and funny stories will we find along the way? A lively look at what's happening, why it's happening, and why viewers need to know.


Topics: CNN Preview
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.