CNN Digital Gives Users Anytime, Anywhere Access to the 2012 Political Conventions
August 22nd, 2012
03:13 PM ET

CNN Digital Gives Users Anytime, Anywhere Access to the 2012 Political Conventions

RNC and DNC Captured Via CNN’s Mobile Apps, CNN.com, Live Video and Social Media

CNN Digital will offer users a front-row seat to the 2012 political conventions via CNN’s mobile apps and website, CNN iReport, social media and through breaking news, analysis, robust multimedia features and live video streaming on CNN.com. Whether on the ground at the CNN Grills or on the Web, CNN Digital will provide insight and understanding to audiences while enabling users to experience delegate votes, speeches and reactions from the convention floor.

FULL POST

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 36 & 37
August 22nd, 2012
12:32 PM ET

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 36 & 37

World's Untold Stories: Super Volcano

The United States' Yellow Park supervolcano

Friday 31 August at 1630 BST / 1730 CET
Saturday 01 September at 1400 BST / 1500 CET and 2130 BST / 2230 CET
Sunday 02 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET
Monday 03 September at 0430 BST / 0530 CET and 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Tuesday 04 September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Wednesday 05 September at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

It can't be seen, but it lies just eight kilometers beneath the Earth's surface and could wipe out the United States. It's a sleeping giant that’s been at rest for more than 600 thousand years, but it's eruption is a potential catastrophic event that could kill millions. It’s a supervolcano.

‘World's Untold Stories’ explores one of the world's largest supervolcanoes, the crosshairs of which sit squarely in the United States' Yellowstone Park. Though its last eruption was millenniums ago, in 2004, scientists noticed the ground starting to ‘heave’, rising upward as high as 2.8 inches a year. This activity has caused geologist Bob Smith and colleagues at the U.S. Geological Survey to keep an eye out for further clues that may allude to an upcoming eruption. While there’s no way of knowing exactly when the next eruption could occur, experts know for certain it would be devastating.

Rather than taking the shape of a single mountain, supervolcanoes have a crater-shaped depression called a caldera. The caldera of the Yellowstone supervolcano is 1,500 square miles. In 1980, the United States experienced a considerable eruption from Mount St. Helens. However, Mount. St. Helens' crater is only two square miles, making the opening of the supervolcano more than 700 times larger. This means it could spew 8,000 times more ash and lava, which physicist Michio Kaku says would "wipe out the United States as we know it”.

In this documentary, ‘World's Untold Stories’ addresses the key questions: How do these supervolcanoes form? When will the next Earth-shattering eruption come? And, is there any way to control one of the largest volcanoes on Earth?

cnn.com/wus
facebook.com/cnnwus 

FULL POST


Topics: CNN Preview
August 22nd, 2012
10:39 AM ET

CNN Secures In-Depth Interviews with Obama and Romney for Presidential Profiles

Documentaries Set to Air in Advance of RNC and DNC Coverage

CNN will kick off its coverage of the Republican National Convention and the Democratic National Convention with two new, 90-minute documentaries on Mitt Romney and Barack Obama, the two men vying for President of the United States in 2012.  Both profiles feature interviews with the candidates, members of their inner circles who know them best, and perspectives from people they have encountered on their separate paths to political prominence.

Romney Revealed: Family, Faith, and the Road to Power is reported by CNN chief political analyst Gloria Borger and will premiere Sunday, August 26, from 8:00pm to 9:30pm ET & PT, the evening before the RNC begins in Tampa, FL.  Obama Revealed: The Man, The President is reported by CNN chief White House correspondent Jessica Yellin and will debut Monday, September 3, from 8:00pm to 9:30pm ET & PT, the night before the DNC begins in Charlotte, NC.

“We’re very pleased we were able to work out access to both presidential candidates so that we could produce comprehensive portraits,” said Bart Feder, senior vice president of programming for CNN.  “These documentaries deliver informative, nonpartisan political reporting, revealing surprising facets of these men’s lives, and what has shaped them, just before they take center stage at their conventions.” FULL POST

Transcripts of both documentaries will be posted on CNN.com after they air.
tmpl