July 25th, 2012

PREVIEW: CNN International Programming Information Weeks 32 & 33

World’s Untold Stories: Empire of the Dead

Saturday 11 August at 1400 BST / 1500 CET and 2130 BST / 2230 CET
Sunday 12 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 2130 BST / 2230 CET
Monday 13 August at 0430 BST / 1530 CET and 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Tuesday 14 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Wednesday 15 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

Paris is one of the most picturesque cities in the world. It is bright, lively and a beacon of art and culture. But there is a dark side to the city of lights. Barely below its surface, is a secret buried beneath Paris. There lies a vast underground network of old quarries lined with the remains of more than six million people stretching nearly 321 kilometers. It’s known as the Empire of the Dead.

Parts of the underground network can be legally accessed making what’s known as the Catacombs of Paris a huge tourist attraction. For a group of people known as Cataphiles, they would rather explore the tunnels and caves on their own, making illegal entrances and finding their way with makeshift maps and a few clues. The spaces are dark, cramped and sometimes dangerous, but that’s exactly why the Cataphiles come to play.

This month on ‘World’s Untold Stories’, CNN takes viewers to the world below Paris, revealing both the adventurers who make the Empire of the Dead their playground, and the people who are trying to protect it.

CNNGo

Wednesday 8 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 11 August at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 12 August at 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

CNNGo visits Montreal in August

This month ‘CNNGo’ sets its sights on Montreal, exploring the contemporary art scene around ‘The Mile End’ with local artist Gene Pendon. With summer in full swing, the programme takes viewers to the vibrant and bustling Jean Talon market, and samples the local produce. Talented singer and former child prodigy Nikki Yanofsky welcomes CNN to the internationally renowned Montreal Jazz Festival. And in this high flying city – that many street performers, acrobats and entertainers call home – cameras are there for the opening night of a thrilling new show from ‘Les 7 Doigts de la Main.’ All that, plus a stroll through the trendy Plateau district, as well as a bike ride over one of North America’s most significant waterways.

CNN Business Traveller: Olympic Special

Thursday 09 August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Friday 10 August at 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Saturday 11 August at 0730 BST / 0830 CET
Sunday 12 August at 0400 BST / 0500 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

CREDIT: Getty/Michaela Begsteiger

Are athletes the ultimate Road Warriors? This month, ‘CNN Business Traveller’ was in London, a city in the throes of the Olympics, playing host to athletes and spectators from all over the world.

As London prepared to receive the world’s athletes and their supporters, the programme heard from staff at Heathrow airport, London’s mayor Boris Johnson, the fans, and from the athletes themselves. The programme also learnt how the city’s hotels braced themselves for their guests, Eurostar tore chairs out of its carriages to make way for Paralympians and their wheelchairs, and London taxi drivers installed beds in their vehicles in efforts to offer a room for the night.

Meanwhile, host Richard Quest seeks guidance from the experts on how to stay in shape on the road, sampling the ‘best of British’ with a daring foray into British Military Fitness sessions, and showcasing a specially devised ten-minute morning hotel room routine – useful for those trips where the time and inclination to get to the gym escape us. Finally, the man considered the world’s most travelled athlete, Gary Player, shares a thing or two with Ayesha Durgahee about his own tips for life as a road warrior.

@RichardQuest
cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller

MainSail 

Krys Ocean Race. CREDIT: Billy Black/MOD

Thursday 9 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 11 August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 12 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In this month’s ‘MainSail’, host Shirley Robertson competes in an overnight race from Newport to New York, on a sailing machine designed to prove a point – the brand new MOD 70 tri-maran.

Until five years ago, fragile high-speed multihulls (ORMA class) would race around the coast of Europe and across the Atlantic powered by commercial sponsors who would bask in the publicity that these spectacular boats and their crews would attract. But then the publicity turned sour after a spate of accidents and injuries. Those investing in the teams become nervous and the class faded away…

Now the MOD 70 class has been developed to fill the gap that the ORMA class left and in 2012 they will race for the first time on their own tour that will combine grand prix racing close to shore, overnight sprints and major ocean crossings.

Robertson has exclusive access to the sailors and the team who created the MOD 70, as she joins a crew on an overnight race from Newport (Rhode Island) to New York, is on board for speed racing in front of the New York skyline and then sees the fleet depart on a Trans Atlantic race where incident- and accident-free crossings could be critical to their future success of the class.

cnn.com/mainsail/
@CNNShirley

Open Court

French Open champion Rafael Nadal

Thursday 16 August at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 18 August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 19 August at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

Novak Djokovic won the Australian Open. Rafael Nadal (pictured) won the French Open. Roger Federer won Wimbledon. But who will clasp their hands around the trophy at the U. S. Open in New York? Will one of the big three prevail? Or will an outsider find his way to the winner’s circle? ‘Open Court’ host Pat Cash travels to New York City and looks ahead to the final slam of the year.

In an ‘Open Court’ exclusive, CNN’s Pedro Pinto travels to the island of Mallorca to interview one of the biggest stars in the game, Rafael Nadal, as he prepares for the U.S. Open and the gruelling finals months of the tennis season. Pinto talks to Rafa about the highs of the season (The French Open title) and the lows (Rafa’s tough decision to withdraw from the London Olympics). The conversation turns to life in Mallorca and the importance of lifelong coach “uncle Toni Nadal.”

The programme also features a rare interview with Toni Nadal, and former world number one Carlos Moya. They’ve known Rafa for most of his life, and they bring their unique perspective to ‘Open Court’. Pinto travels to Manacor to see where Rafa first trained and catches up with the world number three at his gym.

cnn.com/opencourt
@cnnopencourt
@TheRealPatCash