CNN

May 30th, 2012

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 24 & 25

CNN Business Traveller

 

Budapest Ferenc Liszt international airport. Credit: Getty / Bloomberg

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 14 June at 0830 BST / 0930 CET
Friday 15 June at 0530 BST / 0630 CET
Saturday 16 June at 0730 BST / 0830 CET
Sunday 17 June at 0400 BST / 0500 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This month ‘CNN Business Traveller’ looks at how the business travel sector inEurope is revamping itself. Summer 2012 heralds new routes, new trains and a new lease of life for old planes. In the mist of economic turmoil, the continent’s travel industry is undergoing massive change. Show host Richard Quest is inBudapest,Hungary to report onEurope’s evolving landscape.

The financial crisis in the Eurozone has engulfed nearly every industry – and airlines are no exception. When Hungarian national carrier Malev imploded in February, it left passengers stranded and an economy struggling as business travellers were unable to enter the country. Quest speaks to CEO of Budapest Airport, Jost Lammers, about life after the bankruptcy of its hub carrier.

Despite all the difficulties, massive investment has continued across Europe. As the continent’s first privately-owned high-speed train hits 300kph just outside Naples, CNN correspondent Ayesha Durgahee interviews the man behind it, Luca di Montezemolo. di Montezemolo is Chairman of Ferrari, and one of the founders of Italy’s newest and of course, reddest, high speed train. CNN Business Traveller’ puts the luxury, high-tech train to the test on one of their key routes to see if the ‘Ferrari of the railway tracks’ lives up to its cousin on the racetrack.

Also this month, a report from Europe’s airplane recycling centre in Toulouse, where parts and metal are salvaged and put back into the industry; a look at the best ways to sleep at the airport with modern-micro hotel rooms, and a trip underground in Budapest to explore the beauty of the Hungarian capital’s incredible caves.

CNN.com/BusinessTraveller
@AyeshaCNN
@RichardQuest

 

CNN Go

Graffiti along the ‘John Lennon Wall’, Mala Strana in Prague. Credit: Getty / Maremagnum

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 13 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 16 June at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 17 June 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Duration: 15 Minutes

In June, ‘CNN Go’ takes to the Czech Republic’s capital city,Prague, to explore a rich cultural scene which emerged triumphant from the Velvet Revolution. The programme travels around the city to meet Czech people from a variety of cultural backgrounds:

Street artist Jan Zajíček gives a guided tour of the graffiti-sprayed walls of Mezi Vodami; Rebecca King, prima ballerina at the State Ballet, dances a pirouette in the most central point in Europe; and Czech Republic’s first Michelin-starred chef Roman Paulus offers a tour of a teeming food market. Jiří Vortuba, who has illustrated the covers of the legendary novels by Franz Kafka, takes ‘CNN Go’ to his places of inspiration, including the Jewish Cemetery and Charles Bridge. Cristina Pavel, the puppeteer who is making her way to Hollywood, takes CNN behind the scenes at the National Marionette Theatre. Into the night, one of Prague’s hottest musicians Kateřina Dědková of the group ‘Cartonnage’ opens the doors to the Czech Jazz Scene at the Agharta Jazz Centrum.

@CNNGo
CNNGo.com
Facebook.com/CNNGo.Asia

Amanpour

 

 

 

 
Airs Monday – Friday at 2000 BST / 2100 CET.
Replays at 2200 BST / 2300 CET and the following day at 1000 BST / 1100 CET. Also airs Sundays 0030 BST
Duration: 30 minutes 

Christiane Amanpour’s nightly interview programme ‘Amanpour’ showcases the big interview – a leader, a key player – incisive questioning to get at the truth behind today’s headline.

Recent guests on ‘Amanpour’ have included: Former Greek Prime Minister, George Papandreou; President of Turkey, Abdullah Gul; President of the European Commission, Jose Manuel Barroso and Former South African President, F.W. de Klerk.

 

www.Amanpour.com
www.Amanpour.com/Facebook
@CAmanpour

MainSail 

A kitesurfer heads toward the Golden Gate Bridge at San Francisco Bay, California. Credit: Getty / Skip Brown

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday 14 June at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 16 June at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 17 June at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

Kitesurfing is one of the fastest, most spectacular water sports and one that has just secured Olympic status from 2016. Two gold medals in the sport will be up for grabs at the Rio de Janeiro Games, and MainSail was in Italy when the International Sailing Federation made the radical decision. But just how will Olympic selection change the sport and what will kitesurfing bring to the Games?

Show host and double-Olympic-gold-medallist Shirley Robertson heads to San Francisco Bay to visit a yacht club that has embraced the sport from its earliest days, and now runs some of the most competitive kitesurfing races in the world.

‘MainSail’ also meets one of the pioneers of kite surfing, Don Montague, who is taking kite power to a whole new level. Montague believes there is great potential for kites in ocean sailing and is on a mission to set an ocean speed record on a kite-powered boat he designed himself. On a windy day on San Francisco Bay he gives Robertson the helm to see just how fast she can go.

 

cnn.com/SPORT/
@CNNShirley
Tags
CNN