March 16th, 2012

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 13 & 14

Future Cities

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 28 March at 1045 BST / 1145 CET and 1745 BST / 1845 CET
Saturday 31 March at 0545 BST / 0645 CET and 1945 BST / 2045 CET
Sunday 01 April at 1245 BST / 1345 CET
Saturday 21 April at 1245 BST / 1345 CET
Sunday 22 April at 0545 BST/ 0645 CET and 1945 BST / 2045 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

Unlike the United States or parts of Europe, Hong Kongs its on solid financial footing these days. And the city is taking steps to stay ahead of the curve, particularly when it comes to infrastructure.

This month’s ‘Future Cities’ goes exploring beneath the crowded streets, where the city is blasting and drilling its way ahead, expanding one of the world’s best train systems. Hosted by Richard Quest, the programme also investigates how Hong Kong continues to grapple with incredible urban density and lack of open space. The redevelopment of an iconic landing strip is being watched closely, and there are plans for even more controversial land reclamation from the surrounding seas.

cnn.com/futurecities
@RichardQuest
 
More programming information after the jump.
 

Leading Women

'Leading Woman' Marvell Technology Group co-founder, Weili Dai

'Leading Woman' Marvell Technology Group co-founder, Weili Dai

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 28 March at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 31 March at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Sunday 1 April at 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Saturday 21 April at 1230 BST / 1330 CET
Sunday 22 April at 0530 BST / 0630 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

‘Leading Women’ is a brand new series on CNN which profiles some of the most influential women from across the globe. Over the course of the next year, the programme promises to meet remarkable professionals from a variety of fields, including business, the arts, sport and culture. In the first show, CNN’s Felicia Taylor speaks to fashion designer Carolina Herrera, who explains how she has made her mark in the world of fashion, defining elegance for more than 30 years. ‘Leading Women’ joins Herrera as she completes model fittings for the launch of her highly anticipated fall line and she takes CNN backstage at her show.

The show also introduces Marvell Technology Group co-founder, Weili Dai. A self proclaimed ‘geek’, Dai is one of the most unconventional top executives in her field, and yet embodies what it means to make it ‘big in America’, in one of the most male-dominated industries in the world.

CNN.com/leadingwomen


Open Court

Pete Sampras (left)  sits down with Open Court host, Pat Cash

Pete Sampras (left) sits down with Open Court host, Pat Cash

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 29 March at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 31 March at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 01 April at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 21 April at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Sunday 22 April at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

This month’s ‘Open Court’ comes from California, as host Pat Cash meets some of the leading tennis talent the West Coast has to offer.

Fourteen-time Grand Slam winner, Pete Sampras sits down with Cash for a rare one-to-one interview. The former player reveals who he thinks will win the French Open and gives an insight into the power of the ‘Big Four’. Sampras, who many consider the greatest player of all time, also challenges Cash on the court and demonstrates the signature shots that won him so many prestigious titles.

The next stop on ‘Open Court’s Californian adventure is a catch up with Michael Chang, the 1989 French Open Champion. Cash is invited to meet the tennis star’s wife and baby daughter as they celebrate Michael’s 40th birthday, complete with a specially-crafted tennis-themed cake.

‘Open Court also travels south toSan Diego, where Mark Philippoussis, the two-time grand slam finalist has taken up surfing. Cash spends some quality time with him as he talks candidly about his career and why surfing is now so important to him.

cnn.com/opencourt
@cnnopencourt
facebook.com/cnnopencourt

CNN Marketplace Europe

Juliet Mann and Richard Quest

Juliet Mann and Richard Quest

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursdays at 1945 BST / 2045 CET
Repeats the following Friday, at 0345 BST / 0445 CET, Saturday at 1600 BST / 1700 CET and Sunday 0100 BST / 0200 CET and 0715 BST / 0815 CET
Duration: 15 minutes

CNN’s weekly business programme, ‘CNN Marketplace Europe’, puts the spotlight on one of the world’s most influential and interconnected continents, as Europe faces up to the economic challenges and opportunities of the next 10 years.

Hosted by award-winning business anchor Richard Quest with dedicated ‘CNN Marketplace Europe’ correspondent Juliet Mann, the programme uses CNN’s unparalleled access to business leaders and decision makers, its global reach and its unique line up of seasoned business correspondents to deliver intelligent and unmissable features as it analyses the European business scene.

Recent guests include: Jan Zijderveld, Unilever’s President of Western Europe; Michael O’Leary, CEO of Ryanair; Ian Livingston, CEO of British Telecom; Dr Frank Appel, CEO of DHL and Simon Vincent, area president Europe for Hilton Worldwide.

cnn.com/marketplaceeurope
@RichardQuest
@JulietMannCNN
 
 

Piers Morgan Tonight

Michael J. Fox on Piers Morgan Tonight

Michael J. Fox on Piers Morgan Tonight

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Monday to Friday at 2000 BST / 2100 CET
Full air times: 0200 BST / 0300 CET (SIMULCAST WITH CNN US), 1200 BST / 1300 CET and 2000 BST / 2100 CET
Duration: 1 hour

Piers Morgan’s nightly CNN show has recently seen guests as varied as Rick Santorum, LL Cool J, Rosie O’Donnell, Michael J, Fox, Donny Deutsch, Ricky Gervais, Nikki Sixx, Joan Rivers, Anjelica Huston and Magic Johnson.

The in-depth, personality-driven programme continues throughout March and April as Piers’ inimitable style uncovers fascinating details about his newsmaker guests.

cnn.com/piers
@pierstonight
facebook.com/PiersTonight

Living Golf

Shane O’Donaghue with Jason Day (left) and Charl Schwartzel (right) in Abu Dhabi

Shane O’Donaghue with Jason Day (left) and Charl Schwartzel (right) in Abu Dhabi

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 05 April at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 07 April at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Sunday 08 April at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Saturday 14 April at 1730 BST / 1830 CET
Sunday 15 April at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 2200 BST / 2300 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In April’s ‘Living Golf’, host Shane O’Donoghue is in Abu Dhabi, where he sits down with last year’s Masters Champion, Charl Schwartzel of South Africa, runner-up Jason Day and the Open Champion Darren Clarke to talk Augusta, emotion, and winning a Major. The programme also catches up with Australian Adam Scott, who came exceptionally close to wearing the famous ‘green jacket’ at last year’s Masters.

Martin Kaymer, the Major Champion with a surprisingly poor Masters record, warms up forAugustaby getting back into a Go Kart, three years after a racetrack injury sidelined him for a large portion of the season. Can he outrace O’Donoghue head to head?

Plus, one of the greatest short-game players in the world, last year’s European and American money-list winner Luke Donald, gives ‘Living Golf’ a shotmaking masterclass at his private club.

cnn.com/livinggolf
@shaneodonoghue