February 23rd, 2012

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 9 – 10

 Inside the Middle East

A reflected view of Saudi Arabia’s modern capital city through the glass globe sitting atop the 267m Al-Faisaliah Tower in Riyadh

  

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Wednesday 07 March at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 10 March at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 11 March at 1130 GMT / 1230 CET
Saturday 17 March at 1130 GMT / 1230 CET
Sunday 18 March at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET and 1830 GMT / 1930 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

In March, ‘Inside the Middle East’ gets a rare look inside the kingdom of Saudi Arabia, a modern, oil-rich nation that is also home to two of the holiest cities in Islam – Mecca and Medina.

Host Rima Maktabi (pictured, top) puts on a traditional abaya – a long-flowing, black robe that women are required to wear in public – as she investigates the limits of personal expression inside the conservative kingdom.  

From the capital, Riyadh, to the Red Sea port city of Jeddah, Maktabi discovers the challenges that many Saudi women face on a daily basis – from the driving ban to the inability to travel without the approval of a male guardian.  

The programme also meets several young Saudis – comedians, “social media celebrities”, and contemporary artists – who are pushing the barriers of society through their popular, but sometimes controversial, crafts.

 
@rimamaktabi
insidethemiddleeast.blogs.cnn.com/
facebook.com/CNNIME
 

Living Golf

Credit: Karim Sahib/AFP/Getty Images

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 08 March at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 10 March at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET and 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 11 March at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Saturday 17 March at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Sunday 18 March at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2100 GMT / 2200 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

In March, ‘Living Golf’ comes from the home of Florida-born Lexi Thompson (pictured), the rising star of women’s golf. Aged 12 she became the youngest ever player in the US Open, won it at 14 and now, at 17, is preparing for the Kraft Nabisco, her ninth appearance in a Major Championship.   

Also in the programme, European Tour winner and Ryder Cup player Andrew Coltart interviews his brother-in-law, world number two Lee Westwood, who gives his thoughts on the current state of the game, the Ryder Cup, Rory Mcllroy, and the Majors.

‘Living Golf’ looks at the controversy surrounding long putter clubs, the use of which Tiger Woods has called to be outlawed. The show speaks to those for and against the club, gets a demo from one of the game’s great putting gurus and hears from Adam Scott, who turned to using the long putter and won himself a World Golf Championship.  

Plus, in the monthly feature ‘Hotshots’, the young, male star of US golf, Rickie Fowler, gives another insight into his shot making, and hot tips for players of any level.

 
cnn.com/livinggolf
@shaneodonoghue

MainSail

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thursday 15 March at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 17 March at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET and 2100 GMT / 2200 CET
Sunday 18 March at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Saturday 07 April at 1630 GMT / 1830 CET
Sunday 08 April at 0730 GMT / 0930 CET and 2100 GMT / 2300 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

The world of the America’s Cup is renowned for its secrecy. However, this month on ‘Mainsail’, CNN gains a unique insight into what life is like for those earning a living as a member of anAmerica’s Cup team. Host Shirley Robertson goes inside this private world, meeting Cup team ‘Artemis’ (pictured) at their base in Spain.

The programme takes a behind-the-scenes look at what the teams have been up to since the last event of the America’s Cup World Series in November 2011. Robertson speaks to the private design team that has been burning the midnight oil to shape a 72 foot catamaran for the finals, the build teams getting in place to create the machine and sailors practicing out on the water.

 
@CNNShirley
cnn.com/CNNI/Programs/main.sail/
 

Rebuilding Japan

 

Monday 5 March – Sunday 11 March – Special week of programming
 
Half-hour special ‘Rebuilding Japan’:
 
Friday 09 March at 1630 GMT / 1730 CET
Saturday 10 March at 1400 GMT / 1500 CET and 2130 GMT / 2230 CET
Sunday 11 March at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET and 2030 GMT / 2130 CET
Monday 12 March at 0330 GMT / 0430 CET and 0730 GMT / 0830 CET
Tuesday 13 March at 0930 GMT / 1030 CET and 1830 GMT / 1930 CET
Wednesday 14 March at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 

A year after the devastating earthquake and tsunami struck Northern Japan, CNN shares the country’s remarkable journey to recovery in a special week of programming, ‘Rebuilding Japan’.

Throughout the week, CNN looks at how the Japanese people are rebuilding their lives, what changes have occurred in one of the world’s biggest economies and what the future holds for power generation in a country where nuclear energy dominates. 

‘Rebuilding Japan’ will feature live daily reports from CNN’s Anna Coren in Tokyo and the Tohuku region, as well as in-depth reportage from Coren, and correspondents Kyung Lah and Andrew Stevens from around the nation.

The week will also include in-depth feature interviews on ‘Talk Asia’ with Japanese football star Homare Sawa and one of Japan’s most respected business executives and founder of Uniqlo , Tadashi Yanai.  A special half-hour show, ‘Rebuilding Japan’ brings highlights from the week’s coverage.

‘Rebuilding Japan’ will also feature extensive online coverage and a special iReport initiative calling on people to share their photos and videos of life in Japan before and after the tsunami. The iReport initiative has already begun receiving submissions and can be accessed here: http://ireport.cnn.com/topics/744690 The best stories and videos will be featured on CNN.com.

 
@KyungLahCNN
@AndrewCNN
 

Piers Morgan Tonight

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Monday 27 February – Friday 09 March at 2000 GMT / 2100 CET
Monday 12 March to Friday 23 March at 1900 GMT / 2100 CET
Duration: 1 hour
 

Piers Morgan’s penetrative style of journalism is at the fore in his nightly interview programme, as he fires questions at a host of famous names in this exciting, surprising and unpredictable talk show.

Recent guests have included: Rick Santorum, Jerry Springer, Charlize Theron, Seal, Alec Baldwin, Jill Biden, Sean Penn, Jimmy Carter, Ed Burns, Jennifer Hudson, Ricky Gervais and Chaka Khan (pictured).

 
cnn.com/piers
@pierstonight
facebook.com/PiersTonight