November 23rd, 2011

PREVIEW: CNN International Programme Information Weeks 50, 51 and 52

Eye On Thailand

A week of live reports 5 – 9 December, followed by a half-hour special airing at the times below:
 
Saturday 10 December at 1400 GMT / 1300 CET and 2130 GMT / 2230 CET
Sunday 11 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 2130 / 2230 CET
Monday 12 December at 0430 GMT / 0530 CET and 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Tuesday 13 December 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Wednesday 14 December 0530 GMT / 0630 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 
 

This month CNN shines the spotlight on Thailand as its ‘Eye On’ series travels to South East Asia for a week of live coverage, special reports and analysis. CNN correspondent Anna Coren crosses the country to explore the nation’s culture and economy as it journeys along the road to recovery from recent flooding. Bringing a mix of interviews and additional reporting from Paula Hancocks, Eye On Thailand will reveal the people and places defining the ancient kingdom and those growing its influence in Asia and beyond. The programme will report from Bangkok as the country celebrates the King’s 84th birthday, visits a popular Arab hospital and reflects on the nation’s craze for football in recent years. To date, the global journey of Eye On has stopped off in France, Germany, Macedonia, Poland, Turkey, Ukraine, Nigeria, Bahrain, Oman, India, Malaysia, Indonesia, South Korea, Georgia, Japan and Azerbaijan.

 
@Amcoren
@PHancocksCNN
cnn.com/SPECIALS/eye.on/
 

Road to Durban: A Green City Journey

 

Wednesday 14 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 17 December at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Sunday 18 December at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET
Saturday 31 December at 1230 GMT / 1330 CET
Sunday 1 January 2012 at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET and 1930 GMT / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 
 
 

In December, ‘Road to Durban: A Green City Journey’ culminates in Durban, South Africa, for the UN COP17 Climate Change conference. As world leaders discuss ongoing international climate change negotiations and necessary steps to tackle greenhouse gas emissions, Road to Durban: A Green City Journey looks at the plans these leaders are making to safeguard the future.

Addressing experts in the field, CNN’s Robyn Curnow (pictured) will host a panel discussion from the conference, asking burning questions on issues being raised, ranging from sustainable transport to alternative energies. Confirmed panel guests to date include the former President of Ireland, Mary Robinson and International Executive Director of Greenpeace, Kumi Naidoo. Before arriving in Durban, the programme has visited the UK, Germany, Turkey, Kenya and South Africa examining the planning, environmental and sustainability issues facing today’s cities, as well as the green initiatives being developed to tackle them. In January 2012, the journey will continue to the UAE.

 

@CNNGreenJourney
facebook.com/Road to Durban: A Green City Journey

 

Defining Moments 2011

 

Saturday 31 December at 1400 GMT / 1500 CET, 2000 GMT / 2100 CET and 0200 GMT / CET 0300
Sunday 01 January 2012 at 1100 GMT / 1200 CET and 0300 GMT / 0400 CET
Duration: 1 hour
 
 
 

As a remarkably tumultuous year in international news draws to a close, the world’s news leader looks back at some of the most compelling reporting and extraordinary events in a CNN special: ‘Defining Moments 2011’.

Around the world, CNN has been at the forefront of every major event. With unprecedented access and incomparable global reach, the network has brought fast, accurate and impartial reports live from the frontline. 

CNN reporters witnessed revolt across the Arab world that toppled governments, and were on the ground in Japanas citizens braved disasters both natural and manmade.  In Defining Moments 2011, CNN reflects on this historic and dynamic year, from the death of Osama Bin Laden months before the tenth anniversary of September 11 to the slow disintegration of the Eurozone, the terror attacks inNorway, bombings inMoscow and the ongoing widespread famine inEast Africa.

Defining Moments 2011 takes viewers on a journey, remembering a year of stories that had audiences all over the globe glued to their screens. Go back inside Moammar Gadhafi’s compound on the day Tripoli fell. Relive the moment Prince William married Kate Middleton. And look back at the launch of NASA’s last space shuttle as it headed skyward for the final time. Reflect on the devastation that followed some of the worst floods parts of Australia, Brazil and Thailand have experienced for decades.

Defining Moments 2011 invites viewers to reflect on a year that will stay in the collective memory for a long time.

 

Open Court 

 

Thursday 29 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 31 December at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET, 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 01 January 2012 at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 
 

In December, CNN’s monthly tennis programme ‘Open Court’ is hosted by Pat Cash from the ATP World Tour Finals at the 02 Arena, London. Andy Murray comes under the spotlight as the show investigates the highs and lows of his season and the recent four-month stretch that he refers to as the best of his tennis career. Following a dramatic twelve months, Murray discusses his low point following his Australian Open defeat, playing doubles alongside his brother, and how it feels to finish the year ranking third in world tennis. Open Court also profiles Thomas Muster, the former ‘King of Clay’, who has now retired toAustria to focus his full attention on his vineyard. Muster previously won the French Open and is also a former world number one. 

 
cnn.com/opencourt
@cnnopencourt
facebook.com/cnnopencourt
 

MainSail

 

Thursday 15 December at 1030 GMT / 1130 CET and 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Saturday 17 December at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET, 2200 GMT / 2300 CET
Sunday 18 December at 1730 GMT / 1830 CET
Duration: 30 minutes
 
 
 

A year ago a concept was put forward to change the face of the America’s Cup – the oldest trophy in international sport. Twelve months later, ‘MainSail’  looks at the changes implicated and how successful they have been. Show host double-Olympic-gold medallist Shirley Robertson (pictured) heads to San Diego for the final round of the 2011 America’s Cup World Series where she meets billionaire Larry Ellison, the man investing some of his fortune in taking the event to a new level technologically, plus four-time America’s Cup winner, CBE Sir Russell Coutts. They reveal how well they feel 2011’s event went and share their expectations for the next edition of the race.

MainSail also travels to Puerto Rico, where two of the greatest awards in sailing are presented by the governing body of international sailing ISAF at the 2011 Rolex World Sailors of the Year Awards.

 
@CNNShirley
cnn.com/CNNI/Programs/main.sail/