CNN International Programme Information Weeks 38 and 39
August 4th, 2011
12:21 PM ET

CNN International Programme Information Weeks 38 and 39

CNN International programming details for Weeks 38 and 39 including: The CNN Freedom Project, Road to Durban: A Green City Journey, MainSail and Piers Morgan Tonight.

Trapped by Tradition: A CNN Freedom Project Documentary

Saturday 24th September at 1400 BST/ 1500 CET and 2000 BST / 2100 CET
 
Sunday 25th September at 1200 BST / 1300 CET
 
Monday 26th September 0200 BST / 0300 CET
 
Tuesday 27th September at 1030 BST / 1130 BST and 1830 BST / 1930 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

In September, The CNN Freedom Project partners with acclaimed Bollywood actor Anil Kapoor, star of ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ to see what modern-day slavery looks like in his home country, India.

The programme chronicles Kapoor’s trip to a remote village in North Indiawhere nearly all of the women have been sent into prostitution or sex slavery, often by male members of their own family or community. But thanks to work done by organisations like ‘PlanIndia’, the numbers of trafficking victims in this region are decreasing every month. Kapoor takes viewers on a revelatory journey to expose the horrific traditions that sanction the exploitation of innocent girls for familial commercial gain.

cnn.com/freedomproject
@CNNFreedom
facebook.com/CNNFreedom

Road to Durban: A Green City Journey

Wednesday 21st September at 0830 BST / 0930 CET and 1830 BST / 1930 CET;
Saturday 24th September August at 0830 BST / 0930 CET, 1330 BST / 1430 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET;
Sunday 25th September at 0630 BST / 0730 BST and 1830 BST / 1930 CET;  
Monday 26th September at 0430 BST / 0530 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

Road to Durban: A Green City Journey continues its journey in September to Germany with a team of experts on board to investigate planning, environmental and sustainability issues facing German cities, as well as the green initiatives currently in development. With the 17th session of the United Nations Convention on Climate Change (UNFCC) set to take place this December in Durban, South Africa, delegates from around the world will meet to discuss the ongoing international climate change negotiations and necessary steps to tackle greenhouse gas emissions. Road to Durban: A Green City Journey explores how cities are making strides in their efforts to reduce their carbon footprint. Viewers will interactively participate in the series, contributing stories and ideas about their own unique carbon reducing creations and how their cities are working to improve the environment via CNN iReport, as well as social media platforms Facebook and Twitter. Road to Durban: A Green City Journey has already visited the UK and will continue after Germany onwards to Turkey and Kenya before arriving in Durban, South Africa.

@CNNGreenJourney
facebook.com/Road to Durban: A Green City Journey

MainSail

Thursday 22nd September at 1030 BST / 1130 CET and 1830 BST / 1930 CET;  
Saturday 24th September at 0730 BST / 0830 CET, 1600 BST / 1700 CET and 2330 BST / 0030 CET
Sunday 25th September at 0430 BST / 0530 CET, 0830 BST / 0830 CET and 1930 BST / 2030 CET
Duration: 30 minutes

This September, MainSail gains an exclusive insight into the world of the super rich, featuring the 2011 Rolex Fastnet Race inSardinia.

A superyacht is a statement of success, customised to the exact requirements of the owners, who invest millions and many months of involvement before they see the launch of their dream. This process from the first design meeting to the yachts first sail usually takes more than three years; from the materials to the shipyard that builds the boat, to the designer, there is no shortage of organisations and individuals pitching to be part of the multi-million dollar superyacht business.

Host Shirley Robertson meets one man from the design world who has become a dominant force in the industry, Ed Dubois, to find out more about his successes in the arena and to discuss hosting his own event in Porto Cervo for owners of the superyachts he has created. Behind-the-scenes with the British designer and his team at their studio headquarters in Sardinia, Shirley spends time with him on board his classic race yacht,  'Firebrand' which competed in and won the legendary 1965 Fastnet Race – Dubois both a crew member and the designer of the winning yacht.

The programme also joins a crew in the 2011 Rolex Fastnet Race meeting with one of the sailors, who like Dubois in his early years, is at the beginning of what he hopes will be a long and successful career in the sailing world. 

cnn.com/mainsail
@cnnshirley
 
Piers Morgan Tonight
Nightly at 2000 BST / 2100 CET
Full air times: 0200 BST / 0300 CET (SIMULCAST WITH CNN US), 1200 BST / 1300 CET and 2000 BST / 2100 CET
Duration: 1 hour

Piers Morgan’s nightly interview show continues throughout September as his inimitable style uncovers fascinating details about his newsmaker guests.

cnn.com/piers
@pierstonight
facebook.com/PiersTonight
tmpl
soundoff (No Responses)

Post a comment


 

CNN welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the Rules of Conduct set forth in our Terms of Service. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Service.